I have scoured the internet in an attempt to find how other users set up their Condor with a particular pellet to no avail. In coming weeks, I will begin evaluating the performance of various pellets through the AirForce Condor SS .22. Before any pellet is tested, I want to lay out some ground rules to standardize any pellet testing.

Semi technical procedural stuff

The barrel will be cleaned prior to shooting. 5 shots will be fired to get the zero close and to season the pellet to the barrel. A fill pressure will be selected for the rifle based on the pellets weight. A range on the power adjuster will be selected and the rifle will be fired from a rest at 25 yards. The selected will be shot from high power to low, to balance the pressure of the gun.
The rifle will be adjusted until the smallest group is achieved. This step may be repeatedly repeated until I get a satisfactory group. I’ll then shoot 16 shots over the chronograph and the setup may be adjusted for optimal performance. 16 shots is how many I shoot before I refill the rifle.
The rifle will then be shot at 50 and 100 yards. That’s the plan for now, I may alter the process once I start but regardless it will be standardized.

Lastly, the rifle will be shot through a testing media at 25 yards to indicate penetration and wound channel characteristics.

The majestic testing media

The testing material is a 2X2X3 sculpting wax block. I am using it because it does the best job of representing a pellet’s terminal performance of anything I have found… for $3. It gets harder if the temperature is colder and softer if its’s warmer. I’ve yet to try it in warm weather, so I don’t know how it’ll perform in the summer. That being said, it really doesn’t matter whether you use ballistic gel, water bottles, pine boards, etc to test, because nothing compares to the real thing. Regardless of material, a pellet fired into testing material should be compared to a known projectile recovered from the field. When we examine the channel in the wax, we will only see the temporary wound channel. The temporary wound channel will be larger than the permanent wound channel and gives us an idea how the projectile releases energy as it passes through a soft target.

