A recent testing session left me perplexed at my rifle. I was testing an unfamiliar pellet using a familiar fill pressure/power adjustment/pellet weigh/distance/wind/zero. Here was the problem. My drop and wind push was much more than it should’ve been. But why?

My last pellet had a ballistic coefficient (bc) of 0.033. The new pellet had a bc of 0.022.

This sounds complicated. How are you going to simplify it?

A ballistic coefficient is a numerical representation of the projectile’s ability to resist atmospheric conditions. The higher the number- the easier it slices through the air. If the number is low- it works like a parachute with airbrakes in an updraft. Sad news. Pellets have a very low coefficient. Ballistic coefficients of .22 pellets can range from above 0.04 to around 0.01. Silver lining is the high drag of pellets stabilizes their flight and leads to higher accuracy. A high coefficient for a pellet isn’t necessarily a good thing. A low coefficient isn’t necessarily a bad thing. That particular pellet was a Beeman crow magnum, and it had the lowest bc of anything I had used. While it was almost impossible to adjust my hold for the wind, it was still an accurate pellet.

If you are looking at trying out a pellet, don’t base your expectations on a number or how anti aerodynamic they look. Get a tin and shoot them. You may be pleasantly surprised.

