image

In the center of the photo is an 8X11 target. On that target is a one inch black square. Are you having trouble seeing that little black dot? Imagine trying to put a hole in it with a bb gun. Well, it’s not impossible, but it’s a lot harder than the internet makes it look. Here’s how I make a 100 yard shot at a paper target using an unproven setup. 

Setup
Nothing but the best setup will work for a long shot. I try to find a setup that is less .25″ at 25 yards and less than .5″ at 50 yards. In theory, it should yield a group of 1″ at 100 yards. Should… in theory.

Range
I range the target using a combination of 3 methods. SWAG (scientific wild ass guess), paralax adjustment, and finally a laser range finder. Once I decide the range estimate is correct, I can set up my rifle for elevation. Typically for a long shot, I’ll just use mil dots for holdover so I don’t have to click the scope 60 times or so. I refer to chair gun for a holdover….

image

For a 100 yard shot, I’ll have to holdover exactly 4 mils as long as the data is correct.

Angle
I am by no means a pro at shooting in steep angles. Honestly, I can’t recall a time I made a one shot hit at a steep angle at long range. If the angle is steep, I refer to chairgun once again to get me close….

image

Notice the holdover is less at a 20 degree angle. If the angle is +/-5° I don’t bother too much with making an adjustment.

Wind
Here is where things get tricky. Range and angle are always constant. Wind, however, varies with every shot; both in speed and direction. For a long shot at a paper target, I take a reading with my wind meter at the target and take measurements while walking back to the bench. I also have surveyors tape set out at 50, 75, and 100 yards as makeshift wind indicators. Sometimes, all three will be effected my different speeds and directions. A slight miscalculation in the wind will cause a miss. I’ve found that at 100 yards under a 5mph full value of wind 1mhp of wind will equal about 1 inch of movement. Above 5mph the wind has an exponential effect on drift. So again, wind estimation is the most critical aspect of long range airgun shooting. I check chairgun for an appropriate hold off in inches.

Shooting
After all the adjustments have been made, I watch all the wind flags down range and wait for consistent motion, or preferably, lack of motion, hold for drop/drift, then I fire a test shot. I write down shooting conditions and shot results in my notepad. Typically, I’ll have to readjust to get the elevation right. It takes a few more shots to learn how the wind effects an unfamiliar pellet.

You can see that making a long shot requires a little work to get right. This method may not be practical for hunting use, but it’s a lot of fun seeing what your rifle is capable of at extreme range.

