image

This was the very first pellet I tested with “Condorliza,” so I’ll save you the theatrics in this article. It’ll also be a two part review. These pellets are readily available, are relatively inexpensive, and shoot fair. Note the flawed pellet in the photo.

When I first started shooting the Condor, I was using a 2900psi fill with this 14.3gr pellet. It shot very well for a few shots…then it would break the sound barrier. Obviously what was happening is the valve wasn’t opening properly until pressure was balanced. I struggled for quite a while to bring the pellet to a subsonic level. The slowest and most consistent setup I could find was 2300psi with the power wheel on 1:10 (the x:10 didn’t offer any accuracy advantages, just a place to remember in case it moved). Here is what that setup will do.

25 yard best group

image

Not perfect, but perfectly ok. I shot it over the chronograph. Unfortunately there was an update to the app and the app isn’t syncing with the chronograph. So you’ll have to take my word on the info. The average speed was 1000fps. If you took out a few slow movers the average would be closer to 1020fps. A little to fast for my liking.

50 yard best group

image

100 yard best group

image

This 3″ group, while the best, was not the best representation of this pellet’s capability. Most were 5 plus inches. The 0-5mph variable direction wind didn’t help either.

Terminal ballistics

image

2.5″ penetration.  .5″dia quickly narrowing channel.

image

The pellet flattened out a bit. I wouldn’t call it expansion though.

Summary
This is a readily available budget plinking pellet. As with every lightweight pellet I’ve tried, it just shoots to fast to be accurate. I just wish there was one simple trick that would slow the pellet down? Did I mention this will be a two part test?

Airforce Condor SS .22
Benjamin Dome HP 14.3
2300psi @ PW 1:10
33fpe

