When I was trying to slow my 14.3gr Benjamin pellet down, I tried a few things. First, I put an o ring behind the top hat. That did nothing in terms of slowing the rifle down. Then I tried lubricating the pellets. I’m not going to go into detail about lubricating pellets, I’m just going to slow you the results of lubrication… here they are:

25 yards

image

Just over 3/10″ and was easy to replicate. With this kind of accuracy, I had my hopes up.

Chronograph

image

Ten shots average 934fps. About 90fps slower with lube. But the numbers are spread far apart. I wonder how this is going to effect long range accuracy?

50 yards

image

The group went from almost sub moa at 25 yards to 3 moa at 50 yards. Darkness consumes my empty soul.

100 yards

image

It’s hard to tell in the photo, but the best group came in just over 4″. The gusting 0-5mph variable direction wind made it challenging to get a good group, but this represents the setups potential.

Summary
If you want a cheap plinking pellet that is outstanding at 25 yards, you can’t beat this. Of course every rifle is different, but you may have similar success.

Airforce Condor SS .22
Ben Dome 14.3gr lubed.
2300psi @ PW 1:10
27 fpe

