image

As spring squirrel season approached, I wondered how a high energy pellet would put down a squirrel with a heart/lung shot. Naturally, I decided to try it out. I chose the Eunjin dome (45fpe). It didn’t go quite according to plan, but here is the story.

The hunt
I spooked a female gray squirrel from the ground about 15 yards away. She ran a few feet up a tree and started barking. I was shooting through leaves, but had a clear shot. I held below her front shoulder and fired. Solid smack, but it took a few seconds for her to fall off. I ran up to find her crawling away. A follow up shot to her armpit finished her off in a few short seconds.

Wound analysis

image

The first shot (bottom)entered the liver and exited through the spine. Follow up went through both lungs missing the heart completely.

image

Internal damage was slight, merely punching holes through tissue. No apparent trauma; however tissue hit offered little resistance for this high energy penetrator.

