I’ve spent many hours writing about how fantastic the AirForce Condor SS is. Since I sold everything I love to buy this rifle, I was promoted at work, my sex life has improved, and I was given the key to the city. Oh how good life is. Thank you, Condorliza. I can make one tiny hole at 25 yards, I can outshoot your deer rifle at 100yds, and it can assassinate pests without alerting the local authorities. 
Is there anything this rifle can’t do? 
Yes.
 It sucks up close. 
Let me explain. 

With any scoped rifle, there is a descrepancy between theory and reality. In theory, you put a crosshair on your target and the projectile will hit behind it. In reality, you see a straight line through the scope. In reality, the projectile travels in an arc. Common knowledge right? 

From the muzzle, the projectile is rising until it intersects with the crosshair. This is your zero. After the projectile reaches the zero, it descends towards mother earth. Common knowledge right? 

Here’s where it gets tricky. 

The AirForce Condor has a very high scope height when compared to other rifles (other than an AR 15). Still tracking? Maybe a heaping double scoop of creamy, delicious airgun data will help.

The scope height on my rifle is about 3.5″. My chosen zero distance is 25 yards. 

At the muzzle, my rifle will hit 3.5″ below the crosshair. 

If I’m shooting a target at 25 yards away, the pellet must travel up 3.5″ from the muzzle until it reaches the 25 yard distance. Simple right? 

Here is where we have a problem. There is a huge margin for error if the distance is miscalculated before reaching the zero (I purposefully omitted angle correction in this article).

 If I don’t know the absolute correct range, I’m gonna miss. It’s simple as that. 

Now this principle is the same across the board, regardless of what you’re shooting, whether it’s an Airforce Condor or your deer rifle.

Solution? 

Most people use a holdover chart for long range, I use one for close range as its more critical. I also use a range finder… most of the time. The holdover is for 5x and you can easily see how important correct range estimation is. 

I may experiment with a new zero that is more forgiving in the near future.

 
What is your solution for close range shot? 

