Finally, I have filled up all available space in our freezer with yummy squirrel bits. My wife doesn’t care to look at them (much less eat them), so it’s time to make a meal. Admittedly, I am not a 5 star chef (or is it 3 star… whatever). After cooking several tree rats over the course of several years, I have finally found a great recipe. Possibly the best, greatest, most incredibly fantastically awesomely bodacious recipe in all history. But first…

Above is the traditional way to cook squirrel. Fried. Or as we say in these parts, “Frahhed”. This guy knows what he’s doing; however, I’ve tried this recipe a few times and it wasn’t all I’d hoped for. Again… I’m not a chef.

Regardless how you decide to cook it, the key is to cook at a low heat for a long time to make the meat tender. I tried once to cook one over an open fire, as I was hungry and bored. Like unsalted leather jerky. I don’t particularly recommend that method.

Now the moment you’ve been waiting for, my recipe is… pressure canned squirrel parts. Sounds appetizing, doesn’t it?

I’m not going to go into detail about the canning process. Too many variables.

One squirrel per can.

Be sure to pack it in.

Pick your favorite sauce. 

Apply sauce bountifully, ensuring all the meat is covered.

Apply lids, snug rings.

Make sure the water isn’t over the rims.

Set the canner for 1:20 mins. 

Finished. Looks like a deminted science experiment, but we aren’t making 4-assed monkeys here- we’re making scrumptious squirrel bits. 

The sauce will penetrate the meat giving it a full flavor. The pressure canning will make the meat fall off the bone. If I could describe it, it’d be like a cross between chicken wings and ribs. 

Yes, it may not look appetizing, but give this a chance. It’s easy, simple, and I’ll guarantee you’ll love it. Another plus is it is fully cooked and doesn’t require refrigeration, so it’s something good for camping, power outages, etc. It doesn’t even need to be warmed up. 

 

