After testing, the only accurate way to shoot this pellet was at low power. Condorliza has yet to take game at low power, so this is a first. 

The design

There’s not much to be said here. The RWS Super H Point is lightweight, has a rearward center of gravity, and has a fairly shallow hollowpoint compared to other hunting pellets. The most interesting aspect of the design is the thin nose. In terms of penetration, the nose is where you get driving force. I’m not sure how it will hold up in passing through tissue. 

The hunt

I spotted movement about 75 yards away and began a stalk. Once I reached the area of last contact, I waited to detect movement. A few short minutes later, she showed herself at about 20 yards at a steep angle. I could only see her head, so I waited. When she moved to offer a broadside shot, I held for her shoulder. Soft pneumatic detonation. Soft impact. She immediately went down and expired as fast as if she were hit with a faster, high energy projectile. 

Point of aim and projected direction of travel.

Pellet entered right shoulder and embedded far back in the spine. 

This is a first. The pellet went way off course. I have read that bullets will “tumble”, but I have never witnessed such. I believe this was caused by the pellet striking the leg bone and there was not enough energy to drive it on through. Instead, energy followed the path of least resistance. All this in theory, of course.

Recovered pellet has a slanted nose. This could the cause of the yawing. I’m thinking “no.”

Summary 

Well, not the most incredible pellet to show, but it was accurate and put critters down quickly. And, it did it at low power. this will likely be the last time I use this pellet, as the low power makes it much less forgiving at distance due to the more pronounced trajectory.. 

