This will be an ongoing report, until I achieve perfection…wait, that’s Glock’s slogan… “Perfection.”

Funny. They’re far from perfect. Ugly as a hatful of ass and I can’t shoot them worth a damn.

What if we could change that? We’ll try to fix the Glocks perceived flaws…maybe even the hatful of ass part, while keeping the project as inexpensive as possible.

The standardized test is 5 shots, 40 yards, from sandbags. Why 40 yards? This gun may be used in the near future to take down big game. 40 yards is what I consider to be maximum ethical hunting range with iron sights on a handgun… at least with Glock sights.

Here’s my gold standard for accuracy,  a S&W 686 .357. Once the Glock shoots at the 686’s level, testing is over.

5 shots 40 yards from sandbags. 4″. I have a hard time believing I can get that performance from a Glock.

And now for the factory Glock 20SF:

5 shots in 13″. The hole on the far left was a ricochet by the way. This is easily the best group I could pull off. I’m actually proud of this… my best yet.

The Trigger

The first upgrade is a Lone Wolf 3.5# connector bar and a ZEV technologies competition spring kit. 

After installation, a problem arose during inspection. The trigger safety would not reset. Replacing the light ZEV striker spring with the factory striker spring fixed the problem, but added a little weight to the trigger pull. Feels about 3 pounds if I were to guess. Much better. Total cost about $20 from Midway USA.  

But does it make a difference in accuracy? 

It indeed makes a difference. Average group size shrunk by about a half. This is 7″. The last shot hit to the left, ricocheted off the cinder block holding the target in place, and impacted left. After this test was complete, I polished all trigger contact points with a Dremel and Mothers polishing compound  (25 cent trigger job).

I seem to be shooting consistently to the left. There are 2 solutions. The simplest solution is to adjust the sights; however, the grip is a little large for my hand and I end up too little trigger finger. What to do?

Grip

As stated earlier, the bullets were hitting left. I honestly believe I had the right trigger finger placement when shooting, but I had to consciously do that. The gun doesn’t point naturally for me. 

I’d prefer my trigger finger aligned with the barrel. I think it could help with accuracy. 

Natural trigger pull gives “too little finger” and drags across the bottom of the trigger guard. I have baby hands. 

Let’s ruin/optimize my flawless Glock frame with a Glock grip reduction!

Here’s the how to I followed: https://youtu.be/_mjhC5ULTY4

Before:

After:

A little more finger on the trigger, and finger clears the trigger guard…barely.

Trigger finger is now parallel to the barrel.

Well, now that I have effectively increased the ugly factor from “hatful of ass” to “carpet bag full of ass,” let’s see if it still shoots left…

Unfortunately so. It took a few shots for me to adjust to the new grip. Still, it seems to fit my hand a little better, so that’s a plus. Mutilating my immaculate Glock frame did nothing in terms of shrinking groups/changing point of impact. Back to the drawing board…

Stippling 

I cleaned up the frame and attempted my best stippling job:

Still ugly as hell. But does it increase accuracy/will the frame crack in half causing lifelong anguish and dissapointment?

Nope. At least the gun has been brought back to the “ugly as a hatful of ass”level.

Durabake

I decided to use a bake on epoxy spray to beautify the Glock. I’m not terribly excited about the end result, but oh well. Still ugly as a hatful of ass. I also drifted the rear sight to put groups on target. 

Ammo

A few different loads were used. Here are the results-again, these are 5 shot 40 yard groups:

Sig 180gr FMJ

Remington 180gr FMJ

Handload 200gr FMJ 7.9gr Hogdon HS-6. 5 inch group.

And finally the best of the lot…

Handload 200gr Hornady FMJ with 9.3gr Blue Dot. These are hot! Noticably more recoil. Allegedly lob a 200gr bullet at 1100fps. 

Oh. I failed to mention this group came in at 4 inches. Much to my surprise, testing is over.

While shooting this load, on 2 occasions there were loading issues. The gun did not malfunction, but the gun hung up when returning to battery. Once, the slide returned to battery when the sear was reset, and once the slide was slow to reset. The loads are the appropriate length, and are not over max pressure. Not really a significant issue, but an issue nonetheless. 

Guide rod and spring

Since the slide had issues returning to battery with the accurate and hot loads, I decided to upgrade the guide rod and spring.

 The guide rod is made of stainless steel and the new spring is a heavier 22 pounds.

 This will allegedly increase accuracy due to “guide rod flex” (not buying into the claim). It will also allegedly cause brass to simply drop at your feet instead of flying across the county. It will allegedly reduce felt recoil. Why isn’t everyone using these parts? Oh… many reviews allege it will also cause the Glock to incessantly malfunction. Seems to be a coin toss. Let’s see what it does in real life…

Increase accuracy? No comment.

Brass in same county? No.

Reduce felt recoil? A little…perhaps.

Non stop malfunctioning? No.

Returns to battery? Yes.

You may have noticed I switched loads. I ran out of Blue Dot, but HS-6 seems to shoot fair as well. I think accuracy has more to do with the 200gr bullet.

Final recommendations 

Regardless of your firearm of choice there are 3 components to making tiny holes in paper: a good shooter, a good gun, and a good cartridge. 

With handguns, there’s no magic trick to becoming a good shooter- find a mentor, learn the fundamentals, and shoot OFTEN. Going through this process I became a much better handgun marksman, just by attempting tough shots where attention to fundamentals is of the utmost importance. I also learned it’s incredibly easy to get out of practice. Shoot often.

Before this test, I dismissed the “good cartridge” component to handgun marksmanship. It’s a handgun…not a sniper rifle. “No one can shoot them well”. But even with a stupid Glock, proper cartridge selection will lead to a significant increase in accuracy. I feel that this may be the most overlooked aspect of handgun shooting.

And now for the “good gun.” The Glock, in its natural state is a is perhaps the finest workhorse handgun ever made (I threw up a little writing that…). It’s relatively inexpensive, lightweight, accurate, and redicilously reliable. I’ve fired approximately 3000 rounds through various Glock’s with various ammunition,  and have yet to see a malfunction. 

Now…I spent a considerable amount of time, effort, and money to devalue my Glock in the name of gun science to help you in your own Glock endeavors. So what modifications does your Glock need for tighter groups?

Upgrade the trigger. 

